Global Food Security Cluster Inter-Cluster Nutrition Working Group

Categories: Events / Inter-Cluster News / Comments OffPosted on: March 3, 2017

 global Food Security Cluster

 Inter-Cluster Nutrition Working Group

Terms of Reference

Work Plan

 May 2012

Purpose

The purpose of the gFSC Inter-Cluster Nutrition Working Group is to provide technical direction to the gFSC on key areas of synergy between the Nutrition Cluster and Food Security Cluster in humanitarian food security responses.

 Representation

Chair: IMC, Caroline Abla, cabla@internationalmedicalcorps.org

Co-Chair: IFRC, Hilary Motsiry, hilary.motsiri@ifrc.org

 Members include:

  1. ACF France, Julien Morel –- jmorel@actioncontrelafaim.org
  2. ACT Alliance, Lisa Henry –- LIH@dca.dk
  3. CARE, Mohamed Daw, (dmohamed@care.org)
  4. Concern, Amanda McClelland –- Amanda.mcclelland@concern.net
  5. FAO, Neil Marsland–– Neil.Marsland@fao.org
  6. FAO, Florence Egal–– Florence.Egal@fao.org
  7. IFRC, Kiflemariam Amdemariam – kiflemariam.amdemariam@ifrc.org
  8. IFRC, Hilary Motsiri, hilary.motsiri@ifrc.org
  9. International Medical Corps,  Caroline Abla –– cabla@internationalmedicalcorps.org
  10. International Rescue Commette, Frances Kimmins – Frances.Kimmins@rescue-uk.org
  11. Mercy Corps, Gregory Scarborough – gscarborough@bos.mercycorps.org
  12. Oxfam,  Laura Phelps – lphelps@oxfam.org.uk
  13. Save the Children Jessica Saulle, J.Saulle@savethechildren.org.uk
  14. Solidarité Internationale, Peggy Pascal, ppascal@solidarites.org
  15. World Vision International, Douglas Brown – douglas_brown@wvi.org
  16. OC  HA,  Belinda Holdsworth –– Holdsworth@un.org
  17. UNICEF Josephine Ippe – jippe@unicef.org

The purpose of the Working Group is to provide Operational/Coordination/Technical direction/Guidance to the gFSC on key areas of synergy between the Nutrition and Food Security Clusters in humanitarian responses.

The rationale for developing the Working Group is to:

  1. Provide a holistic approach to integrating food security and nutrition responses in a humanitarian context.
  2. Reinforce the critical linkages between food security and nutrition.
  3. Understand complementarities

Objectives and Activities:

The objective of the Working Group is to develop Standard Operating Procedures between the gFSC and the GNC through:

1.Identification of present coordination field practices between the Food Security and Nutrition Clusters.

  • Identify synergies and  complementarities
  • Identify gaps and limitations
  • Identify Best Practices

2.Field Survey:

  • Develop, analyze, write-up and disseminate findings

Deliverables:

Joint Guidance Note with:

  • Synergies
  • Complementarities
  • Gaps

Lessons learned 

Decisions concerning budget availability and allocation will remain with the Global Food Security Cluster Coordinator according to prevailing resources. 

Method of work:

The gFSC support team will act as the secretariat for the Working Group and will manage and ensure the communications through:

  • Regular email correspondence
  • Conduct regular telephone conferences (the initial recommendation is for monthly meetings)
  • The first face-to-face meeting is scheduled for the 16 April 2012, in Geneva (the day prior to the gFSC bi-annual meeting in Geneva, 17-18 April 2012).
  • The gFSC WG on Assessments will report highlights to the gFSC partners during the monthly teleconferences and in more detail during the bi-annual meetings of partners).
  • Final meeting minutes will be circulated to all gFSC partners as information.

 

 

 

Briefing Kit